Delray Beach: Two of three seats contested in March 10 election

    Delray Beach has competition for two of three City Commission seats in the March 10  election. Candidates are able to file until Feb. 10.
    Mayor Cary Glickstein will be re-elected to a three-year term without an election unless a challenger files to oppose him before the deadline.
    But incumbent Commissioner Shelly Petrolia will face Ryan Boylston, a marketing consultant who serves on the Downtown Development Authority, for Seat 1.
    The contest to replace term-limited Commissioner Adam Frankel in Seat 3 took an unexpected turn last month when apparent front-runner Chris Davey withdrew for family reasons. Davey nearly beat Commissioner Al Jacquet in last year’s election.
    That left Christina Morrison, who lost to Jacquet three years ago, and newcomer Bruce Bastian alone in the race before Mitch Katz filed as the third candidate. Katz is chairman of the city Education Board and would, if elected, become the first commissioner in 10 years to live west of I-95.
—  Tim Pallesen

Views: 156


You need to be a member of The Coastal Star to add comments!

Join The Coastal Star

© 2020   Created by Mary Kate Leming.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service