The Coastal Star racked up 10 awards — one first-place, four second-place and five third-place— at the 68th annual Excellence in Journalism Competition sponsored by the Florida Press Club.
The awards were handed out at the Press Club’s annual banquet Nov. 3 in Mount Dora.
The Coastal Star took home honors in the Class C and Class D divisions, which encompass daily, nondaily, community, tribal and college newspapers. Florida magazines and newspaper supplements are also included in the class.
The first-place award went to Ron Hayes, writing/environmental news.
Second-place awards went to Cheryl Blackerby, writing/environmental news; Ron Hayes, writing/minority reporting; Jerry Lower, photography/features; and Dan Moffett, writing/government news.
Third-place awards went to Deborah S. Hartz-Seeley, writing/environmental news; Mary Hladky, writing/business writing; Willie Howard, writing/sports column; Arden Moore, writing/public safety reporting; and Rich Pollack, writing/government news.

— Henry Fitzgerald

E-mail me when people leave their comments –

You need to be a member of The Coastal Star to add comments!

Join The Coastal Star