The Coastal Star collected six first-, three second- and six third-place awards in the 66th annual Excellence in Journalism Competition sponsored by the Florida Press Club.
    The awards were handed out at the Press Club’s banquet Nov. 4 in Sarasota.
    The Coastal Star took home honors in the Class D division, which encompasses non-daily newspapers, community, tribal and college newspapers. Florida magazines and newspaper supplements are included in the class.
    First-place awards went to Cheryl Blackerby, Writing: Environmental News; Mary Hladky, Writing: Health Writing; Willie Howard, Writing: Sports Column; Rich Pollack, Writing: Public Safety Reporting; Scott Simmons, Layout: Front Page Design; and Tim Stepien, Photography: General News.
    Second-place awards went to Brian Biggane, Writing: Sports Feature Writing; Hiram Henriquez, Illustration: Info-graphic Presentation; and Willie Howard, Writing: Environmental News.
    Third-place awards went to Ron Hayes, Writing: Light Feature; Mary Hladky, Writing: Business reporting; Dan Moffett, Writing: Public Safety Reporting and Writing: Government News; and Stacey Singer, Writing: Environmental News and Writing: Health Writing.

— Henry Fitzgerald

E-mail me when people leave their comments –

You need to be a member of The Coastal Star to add comments!

Join The Coastal Star